Martin having a crack

Meet Martin, or more specifically, meet Martin having a crack,  @martinhavingacrack (this is what he’s known as on Instagram) and we thought we’d have a crack at interviewing him about his life on a farm. 

The Livestock Collective had been following Martin for quite some time and really enjoyed his posts and stories. When a Victorian Livestock Leaders workshop came around, we knew we had to get him involved. Now a proud Livestock Leader alumni, he continues to keep us updated (and entertained) on his daily antics. 

Tell us about what it was like growing up in rural Australia?

I grew up on a small family farm in the centre of Victoria, surrounded by trucks from the family transport business. I spent most weekends working on the farm and most of my school holidays with my dad at the family transport business.

I used to love getting a day off school to go out shearing, spent plenty of time riding motorbikes (and stacking it a few times), riding with dad in the tractor and checking or feeding stock in the ute. Growing up I wanted to be an archaeologist and then an engineer.

Surrounded by family and the outdoors, what a great way to grow up. Did you have an idea what was next for you? 

When I finished high school, I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do, I ended up going to university to study engineering and after a year of that, I decided that it wasn’t for me.

After this stint, I got a job pressing and processing sheepskins for one of my family’s customers. This led to working with the local hardware store for the remainder of the year. The following year I decided to go back to university to study business and graduated with a Bachelor of Business majoring in logistics and supply chain management. 

I finished my degree during the pandemic, as well as worked part-time for the family business. Once I was finished, I began working full time within the business and working on the farm. 

Working, studying and graduating during the pandemic, well done Martin. Where can we find you these days? 

Currently, I work three to four days in the transport business. This can include anything from local deliveries, taking trucks to pick up or load trailers, general maintenance of machinery or the property itself, paperwork and everything else in between. 

In addition, I also spend two to three days working out on the farm, whether that’s moving stock, fixing fences, cleaning up paddocks or any other general duties. I also occasionally help out a family friend on his property and his share farm arrangements.

I have really been enjoying working both within the transport business and on the farm. I get a great variety of jobs and work, as well as always having something different to do and no two days are ever the same.

Is staying on the family farm something you plan on doing long term? 

In the future, I would like to expand the farm and find new revenue streams, whether that is through diversifying or value-adding or both! I would love to try introducing some technology to make our lives easier and work more efficiently, whilst also trying to improve genetics and make my own mark on our small farming operation.

Amongst all of this, I try to share everything that I do on my Instagram page @martinhavingacrack

Martin and Arnie

If you aren’t already, make sure you check out his social media for a better insight into what his daily life is like. Each one of our alumni has a unique take on their social media and Martin is no exception!